
Best eSIM for Tourists Visiting Japan in 2026: Sakura Mobile, Airalo, and Japan Wireless Compared
This article contains affiliate links. We have an affiliate partnership with Sakura Mobile. We have no partnership with Airalo, Japan Wireless, eConnect Japan, or IIJmio. If you buy through our Sakura Mobile link, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change what we recommend. Details
Quick answer: For travelers who need documented tethering and foreign-issued card acceptance, choose Sakura Mobile, checking the plan's hotspot allowance and installation timing before buying. For a budget-focused seven-day trip, eConnect Japan offers 20 GB for ¥3,080 tax-inclusive, but tethering and foreign-card acceptance are unconfirmed. For fixed-period prices visible without a booking form, choose Airalo, whose tethering terms remain unconfirmed. For a backup if a compatible eSIM cannot connect after support troubleshooting, choose Japan Wireless; Sakura Mobile's free pocket WiFi upgrade instead covers unexpected device incompatibility. IIJmio is an in-store option after arrival, not a reliable pre-departure online purchase.sm1sm2sm3ec1al1jw3iij1iij2
Key facts
- Best for documented terms: Sakura Mobile.sm1sm2sm3
- Lowest confirmed seven-day price in yen: eConnect Japan, 20 GB for ¥3,080 (tax incl.); tethering unconfirmed.ec1
- Best for published fixed-period prices: Airalo.al1
- Foreign-issued credit and debit card acceptance confirmed: Sakura Mobile.sm2
- Compatible-device connection-failure backup confirmed: Japan Wireless, after support troubleshooting; unexpected device-incompatibility backup confirmed: Sakura Mobile.jw3sm1
- Prices checked: 2026-08-30 (seven-day comparison); Sakura Mobile one-day simulator prices checked 2026-08-31; Japan Wireless 4G starting price checked 2026-09-02.sm3al1jw3ec1sm5jw1
Which one, at a glance
| Best for | Recommendation | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Documented tethering and foreign-card acceptance | Sakura Mobile | Tethering is documented, with plan-specific limits; foreign-issued cards explicitly accepted |
| A budget-focused seven-day trip with a fixed data cap | eConnect Japan | 20 GB for ¥3,080 (tax incl.); tethering and foreign-card acceptance unconfirmed |
| Fixed-period prices without entering travel dates | Airalo | Published prices for six periods; tethering unconfirmed |
| Backup for a compatible eSIM that will not connect | Japan Wireless | Free pocket WiFi if support troubleshooting cannot resolve the connection issue on a compatible device |
| Buying in a store after arrival | IIJmio Japan Travel SIM | Unlimited plan sold through physical retailers; prices set by retailers |
Sources: Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM and price simulatorsm1sm3, Sakura Mobile payment informationsm2, Airalo Japan eSIMal1, Japan Wireless eSIM and plan selectionjw1jw3, eConnect Japan product pagesec1, IIJmio Japan Travel SIMiij1iij2. Checked 2026-08-30. Sakura Mobile backup terms and Japan Wireless backup and tethering terms rechecked 2026-09-03.
View Sakura Mobile home page (affiliate link) →View Airalo official plan →View Japan Wireless official plans →View eConnect Japan official plans →View IIJmio official page →
A Japan eSIM works only if your phone is both eSIM-capable and unlocked from your home carrier — confirm that first. This comparison covers Sakura Mobile, Airalo, Japan Wireless, and eConnect Japan, using prices and features verified from each company's official website on August 30, 2026. It also covers IIJmio, a frequently cited option that cannot be purchased reliably online before you arrive — a detail few comparison articles make explicit.
If connection reliability is your first concern — for example, if a Japan eSIM failed on a previous trip — the backup guarantee comparison in the Quick Picks section shows how the two providers' coverage differs in scope.
Quick Picks
- Best overall (most documented terms): Sakura Mobile — confirmed tethering allowances, confirmed foreign card acceptance, and plans from 1 to 90 days (au or docomo network). We have an affiliate partnership with Sakura Mobile; documented facts, not the relationship, drive this ranking.
- Lowest confirmed price for a 7-day trip: eConnect Japan — 20 GB over 7 days at ¥3,080 tax-inclusive. Tethering terms are unconfirmed.
- Most transparent pricing (no booking form needed): Airalo — six fixed-period prices (3–30 days) are visible without entering dates. Tethering terms unconfirmed.
- Backup guarantee for compatible-device connection failures: Japan Wireless — if your device is compatible but the eSIM cannot be activated after support troubleshooting, a pocket WiFi unit is shipped to your accommodation at no charge.jw3 Sakura Mobile covers the complementary case: a free pocket WiFi upgrade when the eSIM is unexpectedly incompatible with your device.sm1 The two guarantees address different failure scenarios; see each provider's section for conditions.

How We Chose
We evaluated each provider using only publicly available information from their official websites, verified August 30, 2026. We did not test connection speeds or real-world coverage — items not stated on official pages are listed as unconfirmed.
We applied these criteria in this order:
- Device Compatibility — confirmed before price. An eSIM your phone cannot install is irrelevant regardless of cost. Device-compatibility checks are in the setup guide.
- Destination Coverage — which of Japan's three main networks (au, docomo, Softbank) each plan uses, and what that implies for rural or mountainous areas.
- Data Need — daily or total data volume in the context of each plan's throttling and tethering rules.
- Trip Length — whether the plan's structure matches your travel dates without excess or shortfall.
- Setup Ease — QR delivery method and, for Sakura Mobile, which activation-timing rule applies.
- Reliability, as stated in official terms — Japan Wireless's Backup Guarantee covers compatible-device connection failures after support troubleshooting; Sakura Mobile covers device-incompatibility cases.jw3sm1 The two address different failure scenarios.
- Price — compared at the 7-day mark in the table below.
Why This Comparison Starts Before You Board
Every eSIM here is data-only: no Japanese phone number, no voice calls, no SMS. If your trip requires 2FA codes by Japanese SMS, or you need to call Japanese numbers directly, these products do not cover that need. For most tourists, WhatsApp, FaceTime, or LINE work adequately over a data connection — but confirm this before committing.
That "data-only" label also settles a question several 2026 guides get wrong. You may read that Japan began requiring a passport or residence card for every SIM and eSIM purchase on April 1, 2026. That is not what the law says. Japan's Mobile Phone Improper Use Prevention Act has required identity verification for voice-capable lines since 2006; what changed on April 1, 2026 was the permitted method of verifying identity remotely, not which products are covered. The Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications states in its own guidance that data-only SIM cards fall outside the Act, because they cannot carry voice service.id1 Every product compared here is data-only, so buying one does not require you to submit an identity document.
If you have not yet decided between an eSIM, a physical SIM, and a pocket WiFi router, see the full comparison first — [/articles/japan-wifi-esim-sim-choice/] — then return here once you have settled on eSIM.
IIJmio Japan Travel SIM: The Option You Cannot Buy Before You Land
IIJmio appears in many Japan connectivity guides. The problem is buying it from outside Japan.
The Unlimited plan is sold exclusively through physical retailers — BIC Camera, Sofmap, Kojima, and similar electronics chains — not through IIJmio's own website.iij1 The online purchase page for the eSIM plan (tr.iijmio.jp/select/esim/) returned a 404 error at the time of research. IIJmio lists all its Japan Travel SIM products at "open pricing," meaning each retailer sets its own price and no figures appear on the official website.iij2 There is no way to compare IIJmio's price before you walk into a store.
For anyone planning before departure, IIJmio cannot be reliably included in a pre-trip comparison. In-store options at BIC Camera or Sofmap remain available once you arrive.
Sakura Mobile eSIM
Sakura Mobile is a Japan-based company offering prepaid eSIMs, physical SIMs, and pocket WiFi rentals to international visitors. The official eSIM page advertises "from ¥1,500 (¥1,650 tax incl.)" — but that is the one-day price of the Unlimited 5G plan, not the cheapest eSIM the company sells. Entering a single day in the company's own price simulator returns ¥1,250 (¥1,375 tax incl.) for the 3 GB/day plan.sm5 We could not find the ¥1,250 figure stated anywhere outside the simulator.sm1 All prices are charged in Japanese yen, and the company explicitly confirms that it accepts credit and debit cards issued outside Japan — Visa, Mastercard, Discover, JCB, American Express, and Diners Club.sm2
Two plan types are available, each on a different network: the Unlimited 5G plan on au, and the 3 GB/day plan on docomo. Because plan type and network are inseparable, travelers with a carrier preference — particularly for rural or mountainous coverage — need to factor this in from the start. The prices below are confirmed from the official price simulator on August 30, 2026:sm3
| Duration | Plan | Tax-exclusive | Tax-inclusive |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 days | 3 GB/day (docomo) | ¥4,200 | ¥4,620 |
| 7 days | Unlimited 5G (au) | ¥5,250 | ¥5,775 |
| 21 days | 3 GB/day (docomo) | ¥7,650 | ¥8,415 |
| 21 days | Unlimited 5G (au) | ¥11,000 | ¥12,100 |
Sources: Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM price simulatorsm3. Checked 2026-08-30.
Prices for other durations (1–6 days, 8–20 days, and 22–90 days) are visible by entering dates in the price simulator at sakuramobile.jp/travel/price/ but were not retrieved for this article. A 10 percent discount applies when purchasing two or more eSIMs in a single order.sm1
The 3 GB/day plan throttles data to 200 Kbps after you consume 3 GB in a single calendar day.sm1 Tethering on this plan is listed as "available" on the product page, but no hotspot cap is stated — whether a cap exists is not confirmed from the product page. The Unlimited plan's hotspot allowance is explicitly capped: 6 GB for a 7-day period and 20 GB for a 21-day period.sm3 The tethering section below explains why this matters for anyone planning to use a laptop.
There is also an installation timing difference. The 3 GB/day plan's first day begins the moment you install the eSIM, not when you arrive in Japan.sm1 Installing it two days before your flight means two days of data run before landing. The Unlimited plan can be installed before departure and configured to activate after you arrive.sm1
Sakura Mobile also provides a free pocket WiFi upgrade if the eSIM or SIM card is unexpectedly incompatible with your device.sm1 This applies specifically to device-compatibility failures; for other connection issues, contact Sakura Mobile support.
Who Sakura Mobile eSIM suits: Travelers who want confirmed tethering, confirmed foreign card acceptance, and control over which network (au or docomo) they use. Groups of two or more benefit from the 10 percent multi-purchase discount. Travelers who need specific prices before committing will find 7-day and 21-day figures confirmed above.
Who it does not suit: Travelers who need a Japanese phone number or SMS capability. For hotspot use, read the tethering section below: the "Unlimited" label applies to on-device data, not to hotspot usage.
Check current Sakura Mobile prices — affiliate link. It opens the Sakura Mobile home page; Travel eSIM is in the top menu.
When 'Unlimited' Means Less Hotspot Than You Expect
For most tourists, this detail is minor. For anyone planning to work from a laptop or share a connection during their stay, it is the most important thing to check before choosing a Sakura Mobile plan.
Tethering — sharing your connection with a laptop or tablet — is counted separately from on-device data. The Unlimited 5G plan caps hotspot at 6 GB for a 7-day period and 20 GB for 21 days.sm3 The 3 GB/day plan (docomo) lists tethering as "available" with no cap stated.sm3
How 7-Day Prices Compare Across Products
The table below lists 7-day prices from all four products reviewed in this article. The plans are not equivalent: they differ in data volume, network, speed policies, and tethering terms. These figures are provided for reference, not as a simple cheapest-to-most-expensive ranking. Verify each product's conditions before deciding.
| Product | Plan | 7-day price | Tethering | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sakura Mobile | 3 GB/day (docomo) | ¥4,620 (tax incl.) | "Available"; no cap statedsm3 | Throttled to 200 Kbps above 3 GB/day |
| Sakura Mobile | Unlimited 5G (au) | ¥5,775 (tax incl.) | Capped at 6 GBsm3 | On-device data: unlimited |
| Airalo | Unlimited (Softbank) | ¥4,450 | Not confirmed | "Unlimited" definition and fair-use policy not confirmed |
| Japan Wireless | 5G Unlimited (KDDI) | $28.28 USD (was $35.35; 20% off at checkout)jw3 | Supported; high-speed cap per plan, then reduced speedjw3 | Price in USD; discount expiry not stated |
| eConnect Japan | 20 GB fixed (docomo) | ¥3,080 (tax incl.) | Not confirmed | Fixed data cap |
Sources: Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM and price simulatorsm1sm3, Airalo Japan eSIMal1, Japan Wireless plan selectionjw3, eConnect Japan product pagesec1. Checked 2026-08-30. Japan Wireless tethering terms rechecked 2026-09-03.
Airalo Japan eSIM
Airalo is an international eSIM marketplace selling plans for destinations worldwide, including Japan. Its Japan plans are priced in Japanese yen and available in six fixed periods, all marketed as Unlimited.al1 Prices verified on August 30, 2026:
| Duration | Price (JPY) |
|---|---|
| 3 days | ¥1,900 |
| 5 days | ¥2,800 |
| 7 days | ¥4,450 |
| 10 days | ¥5,700 |
| 15 days | ¥7,900 |
| 30 days | ¥11,350 |
Sources: Airalo Japan eSIMal1. Checked 2026-08-30.
The Japan plans run on the Softbank network, plus one additional carrier not named on the product page.al1
Tethering, the "Unlimited" speed-reduction policy, and voice/SMS availability could not be confirmed from Airalo's Japan eSIM product page. These items are listed in the unconfirmed claims section at the end.
Who Airalo Japan eSIM suits: Travelers who want a published, fixed-period price list with no booking form required. The six clearly priced options (3, 5, 7, 10, 15, and 30 days) make budget planning straightforward. Travelers already familiar with Airalo from previous trips, or who want a single platform for multi-country itineraries, will find the interface consistent.
Who it does not suit: Travelers whose trip requires confirmed tethering. Anyone sharing a connection with a laptop should check directly with Airalo or consider Sakura Mobile, where tethering is explicitly documented.
Japan Wireless eSIM
Japan Wireless specializes in connectivity for visitors to Japan, offering pocket WiFi, physical SIM cards, and eSIMs. Its 5G plans run on KDDI's network; its 4G plans run on NTT Docomo's network via IIJmio. Japan Wireless partners with both carriers, but a single eSIM uses one network — not both simultaneously. 5G plans are described as "Truly Unlimited High-Speed."jw1
The company's main eSIM page advertises plans "from $2/day" — that headline applies to the 4G Fixed Plan (cheapest confirmed: 1 GB / 3 days at $5.39, or $1.80/dayjw1), not to the 5G Unlimited and 5G Fixed plans reviewed in this section.
Two plan types are available. The 5G Unlimited Plan runs seven days at $28.28 (USD), reduced from the listed price of $35.35; the screen reads "5G Unlimited Exclusive: 20% OFF. Coupon will be applied at checkout."jw3 The Fixed Plan is structured around data volume rather than a fixed duration: the 12 GB option runs four days at $16.30, and the available periods change based on how much data you select.jw3 Prices for other Unlimited durations and other Fixed Plan data amounts were not confirmed.
The two plan types carry different discount conditions. The 5G Unlimited Plan applies a 20 percent discount from the first eSIM — no second purchase required.jw3 The 5G Fixed Plan requires two or more eSIMs to trigger its 20 percent discount.jw3 Japan Wireless also offers a Free Pocket WiFi Backup Guarantee. The conditions: contact support after arrival if the eSIM does not connect; support runs guided troubleshooting checks; if the issue cannot be resolved and your device is compatible, Japan Wireless ships a pocket WiFi to your accommodation at no charge.jw3 Sakura Mobile's free upgrade covers the complementary scenario — when the eSIM is unexpectedly incompatible with your device.sm1 The two guarantees address different failure types.
Tethering (hotspot sharing) is confirmed for all 5G Unlimited plans. Each plan includes a high-speed hotspot allowance based on plan duration; hotspot sharing continues at reduced speed once the allowance is reached. The specific GB cap for the 7-day plan was not stated on the official page.jw3
Japan Wireless prices are in USD; the other providers charge in Japanese yen. Payment options include credit card, PayPal, Google Pay, and Apple Pay.jw1 English customer support is available seven days a week by chat, email, and phone.jw1
Who Japan Wireless eSIM suits: Travelers whose main concern is a compatible eSIM failing to connect after arrival — Japan Wireless provides a backup pocket WiFi if support troubleshooting cannot resolve the issue.jw3 Solo travelers benefit from the Unlimited plan's 20 percent discount, which applies from a single purchase. Groups of two or more also have discount options on both the Unlimited and Fixed plans.
Who it does not suit: Travelers who need the full plan price list before committing — only the 7-day Unlimited ($28.28) and 12 GB/4-day Fixed ($16.30) prices are confirmed here.
eConnect Japan eSIM
eConnect Japan offers eSIMs, physical SIM cards, and pocket WiFi rentals. Its eSIM runs on the NTT Docomo 5G and 4G (LTE) network and is explicitly data-only: voice calls and SMS are not supported.ec1 Three plans are confirmed from the official product page as of August 30, 2026:
| Plan | Price |
|---|---|
| 10 GB / 30 days | ¥2,860 (tax incl.)ec1 |
| 20 GB / 7 days | ¥3,080 (tax incl.)ec1 |
| 20 GB / 15 days | ¥3,630ec1 |
Sources: eConnect Japan product pagesec1. Checked 2026-08-30.
Read eConnect Japan's product pages carefully before you commit, because the site contradicts itself in three places. First, the listing page header reads "From ¥2,860 excl. taxes," while the individual product detail pages — the actual purchase screens — display prices as tax-inclusive. Second, the ¥3,080 plan sits at a URL ending in esim-30gb-8d, but the page itself is titled "eSIM 20GB/7days." Third, the descriptive paragraph on that same page mentions "10GB of data," while the specification block below it states 20 GB. Three different data figures appear on one page.
We take the specification block and the product title as the source, because those are what the purchase screen charges you for: ¥3,080 tax inclusive for 20 GB over seven days, and ¥2,860 tax inclusive for 10 GB over 30 days, both confirmed on 2026-08-30. None of this makes the plans bad value. It does mean you should read the specification block on the page you are actually buying from, rather than trusting the URL, the headline, or the marketing paragraph.
The eSIM is delivered by email — no physical product is shipped. eConnect Japan does not ship physical products overseas,ec2 but because the eSIM arrives by email, international purchase is likely possible — though the product page does not state this explicitly. Confirm with the company before checking out. Whether tethering is supported or foreign-issued credit cards are accepted was not confirmed from the product page.
Who eConnect Japan eSIM suits: Travelers on a 7-day or 15-day trip who want a fixed data cap rather than an "Unlimited" plan with potential speed-reduction policies. The ¥3,080 (tax incl.) price for 20 GB over seven days is a concrete figure for budget comparison.
Who it does not suit: Travelers who need confirmed tethering, or those visiting for more than 30 days. The plan structure does not go beyond 31 days or above 10 GB per month.
Which Plan Fits Your Trip?
Based on each provider's documented official terms as of August 30, 2026. We evaluated plans against publicly available terms only — no in-field testing was done.
◎ Strong fit based on confirmed terms / ○ Reasonable fit / △ Not confirmed or not the best option for this scenario
| Scenario | Sakura Mobile | Airalo | Japan Wireless | eConnect Japan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3–5 day trip | △ Use the simulator; 3d/5d prices not retrievedsm3 | ◎ 3d ¥1,900; 5d ¥2,800 — cheapest confirmed short-trip optionsal1 | △ Only 7-day Unlimited price confirmedjw3 | △ Shortest plan is 7 daysec1 |
| 7–14 day trip | ◎ 7d and 21d prices confirmed; custom durations availablesm3 | ○ 7d ¥4,450; 10d ¥5,700; 15d ¥7,900al1 | ◎ 7d $28.28; Backup Guarantee; 20% off from 1 eSIMjw3 | ○ 7d ¥3,080; 15d ¥3,630; fixed data capec1 |
| Laptop tethering needed | ○ Confirmed; Unlimited: 6 GB cap/7d; 3 GB/day plan: "available", no cap statedsm1sm3 | △ Not confirmed from official pageal1 | ○ Confirmed; high-speed cap per plan, then reduced speedjw3 | △ Not confirmed from official pageec1 |
| Solo traveler, want a discount | △ 10% off requires 2+ eSIMssm1 | △ No discount stated | ◎ 20% off on Unlimited from a single eSIMjw3 | △ No discount stated |
| 2 or more traveling together | ◎ 10% off per eSIM for 2+ in one ordersm1 | △ No discount stated | ◎ 20% off on Unlimited (any quantity); 20% off on Fixed for 2+jw3 | △ No discount stated |
| Confirmed foreign card acceptance needed | ◎ Visa, MC, Discover, JCB, Amex, Diners — foreign-issued cards explicitsm2 | △ Not specified on product page | △ Not confirmed for foreign-issued cardsjw1 | △ "Major credit cards" — brands and international not specifiedec1 |
Sources: Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM and price simulatorsm1sm3, Sakura Mobile payment informationsm2, Airalo Japan eSIMal1, Japan Wireless eSIM and plan selectionjw1jw3, eConnect Japan product pagesec1. Checked 2026-08-30. Sakura Mobile backup terms and Japan Wireless backup and tethering terms rechecked 2026-09-03.
Japan eSIM Comparison at a Glance
Prices and feature details as of August 30, 2026. Check each company's official site before purchasing, as prices may change.
| Feature | Sakura Mobile | Airalo | Japan Wireless | eConnect Japan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | ¥1,250 (¥1,375 tax incl.), 3 GB/day at 1 day; Unlimited 5G from ¥1,500 (¥1,650)sm5 | ¥1,900 / 3 days | 5G Fixed Plan from $16.30 / 12 GB / 4 days; 5G Unlimited 7 days $28.28 (USD, after 20% off). Headline "from $2/day" refers to 4G plansjw1 | ¥2,860 / 10 GB / 30 days (tax incl.) |
| Plan structure | Unlimited 5G or 3 GB/day; 1–90 days | 6 fixed periods (3–30 days) Unlimited | 1–30 day options (details unconfirmed)jw2 | Fixed data: 10 GB or 20 GB |
| Network | au (Unlimited) / docomo (3 GB/day) | Softbank + 1 carrier | KDDI (5G plans) / NTT Docomo via IIJmio (4G plans) | NTT Docomo 5G/4G |
| Voice calls | No | — | — | No |
| SMS | No | — | — | No |
| Tethering | Unlimited plan: capped (6 GB/7d, 20 GB/21d); 3 GB/day plan: "available", no cap stated (unconfirmed) | — | Supported; high-speed cap per plan, then reduced speedjw3 | — |
| Foreign cards accepted | Yes (explicitly confirmed) | — | — | — |
| Group discount | 10% off for 2+ eSIMs | None stated | Unlimited: 20% off from 1 eSIM; Fixed: 20% off for 2+jw3 | None stated |
| Backup guarantee | Free pocket WiFi if device incompatiblesm1 | — | Free pocket WiFi if device-compatible eSIM cannot connect after support troubleshootingjw3 | — |
| Delivery | QR code by email | QR code by email or app | Online (details not confirmed) | By email |
| Pre-purchase from abroad | Yes | Yes | Yes | Likely (email delivery; not explicit) |
| Return required | No | No | No | No |
| Payment currency | JPY | JPY (display may vary by browser) | USD | JPY |
Sources: Sakura Mobile Travel eSIM and price simulatorsm1sm3, Sakura Mobile payment informationsm2, Airalo Japan eSIMal1, Japan Wireless eSIM and plan selectionjw1jw3, eConnect Japan product pagesec1. Checked 2026-08-30. Sakura Mobile backup terms and Japan Wireless backup and tethering terms rechecked 2026-09-03. Japan Wireless network details rechecked 2026-09-03.
"—" indicates the item could not be confirmed from official sources as of 2026-08-30. See the unconfirmed claims section below.
Once you have chosen your plan, the setup guide covers how to buy from outside Japan, when to install (timing rules differ by provider and getting this wrong shortens your plan before you land), and what to do if the eSIM does not connect on arrival: How to Buy and Set Up a Japan eSIM: Step-by-Step Guide.
Which Plan Should You Choose?
Is your phone eSIM-compatible and carrier-unlocked?
├─ NO → eSIM cannot be installed — see /articles/japan-wifi-esim-sim-choice/
└─ YES → Trip longer than 10 days?
├─ YES → Need laptop tethering?
│ ├─ YES → Sakura Mobile Unlimited 5G (hotspot: up to 20 GB / 21 days, au network)
│ └─ NO → Airalo 15-day (¥7,900) or 30-day (¥11,350), or Sakura Mobile (use simulator)
└─ NO → Price your main concern?
├─ YES → eConnect Japan 20 GB / 7 days (¥3,080) or Airalo 7 days (¥4,450)
└─ NO → Want a backup if a compatible eSIM won't connect after support troubleshooting?
├─ YES → Japan Wireless 5G Unlimited ($28.28 / 7 days; Free Pocket WiFi Backup Guarantee)
└─ NO → Sakura Mobile (confirmed tethering + confirmed card acceptance)
If none of the branches above fits your situation exactly, use the Sakura Mobile price simulator — enter your travel dates and it returns an exact price for both plan types.
Check Your Device, Then Book
The most common reason an eSIM installation fails is a carrier-locked phone. Confirm your device is both eSIM-capable and unlocked before ordering from any provider in this comparison — device-compatibility checks and provider-specific installation timing are in the setup guide.
Check Sakura Mobile's current plans and prices — affiliate link; opens the Sakura Mobile home page; Travel eSIM is in the top menu.
We have an affiliate partnership with Sakura Mobile and no partnership with Airalo, Japan Wireless, eConnect Japan, or IIJmio.
What we verified — and what we couldn't
What we verified
- Sakura Mobile's seven-day prices are ¥4,620 for 3 GB/day and ¥5,775 for Unlimited 5G, both tax-inclusive; the Unlimited hotspot allowance is 6 GB for seven days.sm3
- Sakura Mobile explicitly accepts foreign-issued credit and debit cards.sm2
- Airalo publishes six fixed-period Japan prices, including seven days for ¥4,450.al1
- Japan Wireless lists seven-day 5G Unlimited at $28.28 after its 20 percent discount; its backup requires a compatible device and unsuccessful support troubleshooting.jw3
- eConnect Japan's product detail page confirms 20 GB over seven days for ¥3,080 tax-inclusive.ec1
What we couldn't
The items below could not be confirmed from official product pages as of the research dates stated above. Check each provider directly before purchasing.
- Sakura Mobile Unlimited 5G — hotspot speed after the tethering allowance is reached: We could not find an official statement confirming whether hotspot data continues at a specified speed after the tethering allowance is reached. The official page confirms the allowance is set per plan (6 GB for 7 days; 20 GB for 21 days) but does not state the speed once that limit is hit. Verify with Sakura Mobile before choosing this plan for heavy hotspot use.
- Sakura Mobile — checkout requirements: We could not find an official statement confirming whether a Japanese address or phone number is required at checkout. Foreign card acceptance is confirmed, but whether a Japanese address or phone number is required at checkout is not stated on the official page.
- Airalo — tethering, speed-reduction policy, and voice/SMS: We could not find an official statement on Airalo’s Japan eSIM product page confirming whether tethering, speed reduction under its Unlimited policy, or voice/SMS are supported or how those policies apply. None of these could be confirmed from Airalo's Japan eSIM product page. Check the current product page or contact Airalo support before purchasing.
- Japan Wireless — voice/SMS availability: We could not find an official statement confirming whether voice calls or SMS functionality are included. Not confirmed from the official page. The eSIM is positioned as a data product; whether any SMS functionality is included was not stated.
- Japan Wireless — foreign-issued credit card acceptance: We could not find an official statement confirming whether foreign-issued credit cards are accepted without restriction. Payment options list credit card, PayPal, Google Pay, and Apple Pay, but whether foreign-issued cards are accepted without restriction was not confirmed.
- Japan Wireless — expiry of the $28.28 promotional price: We could not find an official statement confirming whether the $28.28 promotional price has a specified expiry date. Displayed with a 20% OFF label; no expiry date stated. Confirm the current price at checkout before completing your order.
- eConnect Japan — foreign-issued card acceptance: We could not find an official statement confirming whether internationally issued cards or specific card brands are accepted. The site lists "major credit cards" as accepted but does not specify card brands or confirm that internationally issued cards are accepted.
- eConnect Japan — tax status of the 20 GB/15-day plan (¥3,630): We could not find an official statement in the pages checked confirming whether the ¥3,630 price for the 20 GB/15-day plan includes tax. The 10 GB/30-day and 20 GB/7-day prices are confirmed as tax-inclusive from their product detail pages. The 20 GB/15-day detail page was not checked; tax status for that plan is not confirmed.
- All providers — network performance in specific locations: We could not find an official statement in the sources used confirming whether network performance meets travelers’ needs in specific rural, mountainous, or underground locations; coverage quality was not assessed in this article. Coverage quality in rural, mountainous, or underground areas is not assessed in this article. Check each provider's coverage map for your planned destinations.
Sources
- sakuramobile.jp/travel/esim/. Verified 2026-08-30, rechecked 2026-08-31 and 2026-09-03. Page advertises "from ¥1,500 (¥1,650 tax inclusive)"; plan types: Unlimited 5G (au) and 3 GB/day (docomo); 3 GB/day throttled to 200 Kbps after daily cap; Unlimited 5G hotspot allowance set per plan (up to 6 GB for 7 days; up to 20 GB for 21 days) — speed after cap not stated on official page; valid 1–90 days; installation time approx. 5 minutes; 3 GB/day plan starts counting from installation day; Unlimited 5G activates after arrival in Japan; 10% discount for 2+ eSIMs. Backup guarantee confirmed 2026-09-03 ("Check travel device compatibility" section): "If your SIM Card or eSIM is unexpectedly incompatible with your cell phone we'll immediately upgrade you to a Pocket WiFi device at no extra cost." ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/travel/price/#esim (Travel eSIM price simulator). Verified 2026-08-30 by entering actual dates and reading displayed prices. 7-day prices: 3 GB/day ¥4,200 (¥4,620 tax incl.), Unlimited 5G ¥5,250 (¥5,775 tax incl.). 21-day prices: 3 GB/day ¥7,650 (¥8,415 tax incl.), Unlimited 5G ¥11,000 (¥12,100 tax incl.). Tethering on Unlimited plan: up to 6 GB for 7-day period, up to 20 GB for 21-day period. Tethering on 3 GB/day plan: listed as "available" with no cap stated. Prices for other durations not retrieved. ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/travel/price/#esim (price simulator). Verified 2026-08-31 by entering a single travel day. 1-day prices: 3 GB/day (docomo) ¥1,250 (¥1,375 tax incl.); Unlimited 5G (au) ¥1,500 (¥1,650 tax incl.). The simulator accepts any duration in one-day steps, so the ¥1,500 figure in the page's headline is the Unlimited plan's one-day price rather than the lowest eSIM price available. ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/info/payment/. Verified 2026-08-30. Accepted cards: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, JCB, American Express, Diners Club; foreign-issued cards explicitly accepted ("We accept credit and debit cards from your country"); payment in JPY only. ↩
- airalo.com/japan-esim. Verified 2026-08-30. Japan eSIM prices in JPY: 3 days ¥1,900, 5 days ¥2,800, 7 days ¥4,450, 10 days ¥5,700, 15 days ¥7,900, 30 days ¥11,350. Network: Softbank + 1 additional carrier. Asia-wide plans from ¥700. Delivery by QR code via email or app; no return required. ↩
- japan-wireless.com/esim and japan-wireless.com/. Verified 2026-08-30; network details rechecked 2026-09-03. The site advertises an eSIM starting price of "$2/day" (USD). That figure corresponds to the 4G Fixed Plan. The cheapest 4G Fixed Plan confirmed from the "All Japan eSIM Plans & Pricing" section lower on japan-wireless.com/esim/choosePlan is 1 GB / 3 days at $5.39 ($1.80/day), verified 2026-09-02. It is not from the 5G plans compared in this article. Among the 5G plans, the cheapest confirmed option is the 5G Fixed Plan at $16.30 for 12 GB over 4 days, and the 7-day 5G Unlimited Plan is $28.28 after its 20 percent discount, about $4.04 per day. Network: KDDI (5G Unlimited and 5G Fixed plans); NTT Docomo via IIJmio (4G plans) — confirmed from Specification tabs on official plan pages, 2026-09-03. A single eSIM uses one network, not both simultaneously. 5G plans described as "Truly Unlimited High-Speed." Payments: credit card, PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay. International pre-purchase available. English support 7 days/week by chat, email, phone. ↩
- japan-wireless.com/esim. Verified 2026-08-30. Plan detail page referenced "1-Day to 30-Day Options." Full pricing table for all durations not confirmed; see jw3 for the plans confirmed from the choosePlan page. ↩
- japan-wireless.com/esim/choosePlan. Verified 2026-08-30; Backup Guarantee modal and tethering rechecked 2026-09-03. Plans confirmed: 5G Unlimited / 7 days — listed price $35.35, displayed price $28.28. Unlimited discount text: "5G Unlimited Exclusive: 20% OFF" / "*20% OFF for 1 eSIM. Coupon will be applied at checkout!" (applies from a single eSIM purchase). Fixed Plan / 12 GB / 4 days — $16.30. Fixed Plan discount text: "Exclusive 5G Group Deal: Save 20% When you buy 2+ eSIMs. *Coupon will be applied at checkout!" (requires 2+ eSIMs). Backup Guarantee modal text (verified 2026-09-03): "If we can't get your eSIM working (and your device is compatible), we'll activate Plan B. We will ship a Free Pocket WiFi device directly to your hotel or accommodation in Japan." Conditions require: (1) contact support after arrival, (2) support runs guided troubleshooting checks, (3) Plan B activates only if device is compatible and issue remains unresolved. Tethering confirmed from Specification tab (2026-09-03): hotspot sharing supported on all 5G Unlimited plans; each plan includes a high-speed hotspot data allowance based on plan duration; hotspot sharing continues at reduced speed after allowance is reached. Specific GB allowance for 7-day plan not stated on official page. Discount expiry date not stated. Prices in USD. ↩
- econnectjapan.com/products/esim/ (listing page, verified 2026-08-30) and product detail pages econnectjapan.com/products/esim/esim-10gb-31d and econnectjapan.com/products/esim/esim-30gb-8d (verified 2026-08-30). Plans: 10 GB/30 days ¥2,860 (tax incl., confirmed on product detail page); 20 GB/7 days ¥3,080 (tax incl., confirmed on product detail page); 20 GB/15 days ¥3,630 (tax status of this plan not confirmed on detail page — see unconfirmed claims). Note on site inconsistencies (all verified 2026-08-30): the listing page header reads "From ¥2,860 excl. taxes" while product detail pages read "tax incl."; the ¥3,080 plan sits at URL slug esim-30gb-8d but is titled "eSIM 20GB/7days"; and the descriptive paragraph on that page says "10GB of data" while the specification block says 20GB. The article uses the product title and specification block on each detail page. Network: NTT Docomo 5G/4G LTE. Voice calls and SMS not supported ("data only SIM card and does not support voice call and SMS"). eSIM delivered by email. ↩
- econnectjapan.com/. Verified 2026-08-30. Physical products (WiFi, SIM card) not shipped overseas ("unfortunately, we do not ship overseas"). eSIM delivery is by email only; no product is physically shipped. ↩
- Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (Japan), "携帯電話の犯罪利用の防止" (soumu.go.jp/main_sosiki/joho_tsusin/d_syohi/050526_1.html) and its Q&A for mobile voice carriers, revised for 1 April 2026 (soumu.go.jp/main_sosiki/joho_tsusin/d_syohi/050526_1.files/Page444.html). Verified 2026-08-30. Q&A 2-2 states that data-only SIM cards are outside the scope of the Act because they cannot receive mobile voice service. The Act itself has been in force since 1 April 2006; the 1 April 2026 change concerned the permitted methods of remote identity verification (IC-chip reading, multi-factor authentication), not the products covered. ↩
- tr.iijmio.jp/unlimited/. Verified 2026-08-30. Unlimited plan: 10/15/31 day options; tethering 9/14/30 GB per period; sold at BIC Camera, Sofmap, Kojima, and similar retail stores. English, Japanese, and Chinese support available. ↩
- tr.iijmio.jp/select/. Verified 2026-08-30. Data plan prices listed as "open pricing" (オープン価格); no prices published on official website. eSIM purchase page (tr.iijmio.jp/select/esim/) returned 404 at time of research. ↩